Ragnarok - Ragnarok (1977)

RAGNARÖK's first release is an all time folk -prog classic and must be heard. RAGNARÖK blend elements from "Meddle" Era FLOYD, with touches of JETHRO TULL, FOCUS and CAMEL. Their first release was all instrumental and offers loads of acoustic guitar (aka. Seamus), flute and keyboards with amazing musicianship. This album has always given me a feeling of solitude for some reason and is a great piece of music to reflect on life with. This re-release is very well transfered and I am amazed at the sound clarity. Songs are not long or epic in nature but seem to instead flow with cascading perfection short piece by short piece. Many passages are slow and deeply forboding in structure conjuring memories of the most tranquil/spacey PINK FLOYD.
RAGNARÖK never get too loud and instead work on surrounding the listener with multi - layered quiet prog lanscapes to deal with. Essential stuff!

Review by loserboy
5 stars

 Tracks Listing:

1. Farvel Köpenhamn / Goodbye Copenhagen (2:30)
2. Promenader / Walks (4:40)
3. Nybakat Bröd / Freshbaked Bread (3:01)
4. Dagarnas Skum / Foam Of The Days (8:07)
5. Polska Fran Kalmar / Reel From Kalmar (0:46)
6. Fabriksfunky / Factoryfunk (4:49)
7. Tatanga Mani (4:34)
8. Fiottot (1:23)
9. Stiltje-Uppbrott / Calm-Breaking Up (4:21)
10. Vattenpussar / Pools Of Water (4:08)

Total Time: 43:19


Lars Peter Sörensson / drums
Stefan Ohlsson / drums, guitar
Peder Nabo / flute, guitar
Staffan Strindberg / electric bass
Peter Bryngelsson / guitars
Henrik Strindberg / electric guitar, flute, Soprano flute, Soprano saxophone



No comments: