Joy Unlimited - 1971 - Schmetterlinge

For the start, I must say it's a bit incoherent. However, although it's distancing this record from a masterpiece status, it's also giving it quite a dose of charm.

First off, vocals. I was convinced that powerful female vocal was coming from the throat of African origin; it turned out singer is a small white girl. But what a power! Powerful, ranging from clean to raspy, sometimes pleasantly overdubbed. Lots of soul and rhythm 'n' blues influences.

But what is this? What are we talking about?

It's difficult to explain. It's definitely a German record, krautrock elements, although not omnipresent, are very evident. Also, the Germany-style catchy melodies, simple but perfectly working within a context - it's hard to explain. Like GROBSCHNITT at their best, but this band has nothing to do with them.

There's also a lot of blues and soul, as mentioned. In fact there are a couple of straightforward, non-prog tunes, and I'm glad the band wasn't petrified in one genre. There's also a cool blues number with German lyrics and good vibraphone. I don't understand anything of German language, except 'Kleine, komm hier'. Speaking of, lyrics are often sexually tinged (which is awesome with such a voice), or naive in it's hippie ideology.

Other aspects worth mentioning are psychedelic rock, saxophone, some heavy rock, powerful Hammond and very good, tight, funky grooves. Now try to fuse everything; it's bizarre as it gets.

This is pointless. I don't have the words to describe it. If you imagine Eclectic Prog as some wacky version of prog, to sinister for jazz rock, to angular for Symphonic, and now try to imagine all that mixed with SOUL MUSIC...and..I mentioned it's a good record, didn't I?
(Review by clarke2001  /September 11, 2009)

Tracks Listing


1. Rudiment 4:27
2. Connection 1:30
3. That's the Key 2:32
4. For You and Me 1:40


5. Suppression 2:56
6. Rankness 2:37
7. Face of War 3:28
8. Free 2:08
9. Sensual Impressions 7:14
10. Quintessence 2:35


11. Eden Park 2:58
12. Metamorphosis 3:08
13. In Search for the Last Word 1:59
14. Rising Mind 2:55
15. Eden Park Again 1:44

Bonus on CD Garden of Delights

16. Neckarbrãcken Blues 
17. All Heaven And All Earth Are Silent 
18. Silver Gun 
19. Peace Train 

Line-up / Musicians

Joy Fleming / vocals
Hans W. Herkenne / drums, percussion
Albin Metz / trumpet, bass
Roland Heck / organ, piano, vibes, marimba, percussion, vocals
Dieter Kindl / bass, guitar, percussion
Gerd Köthe / saxophone, flute
Klaus Nagel / guitar, woodwind, percussion, flute
Hans Lingenfelder / guitar

CD Garden of Delights CD 111 (Germany, reissue 2005)


No comments: